Log In  |Register |  Welcome to MPL

  • 10 December 2016

Pairing up

Thursday 8 December 2016 15:21 London/ 10.21 New York/ 23.21 Tokyo

Fintech to play increasing role in future of securities market according to the SEC

Reputation management

Tuesday 6 December 2016 16:17 London/ 11.17 New York/ 00.17 (+ 1 day) Tokyo

Blue skies could be ahead in 2017 for marketplace lending but reputational rebuilding might be necessary first

Delicate constitution

Friday 4 November 2016 15:23 London/ 10.23 New York/ 23.23 Tokyo

While the CFPB's single director structure has been declared unconstitutional, it is unlikely to effect its current regulatory powers.

Scaling up

Friday 14 October 2016 11:48 London/ 06.48 New York/ 19.48 Tokyo

Funding Circle and Zopa intend to tap the securitisation market on a regular basis. Both platforms recently discussed their experiences issuing ABS at Lendit.

What's in a name?

Friday 7 October 2016 13:38 London/ 08.38 New York/ 21.38 Tokyo

Ongoing debate about whether marketplace loans are whole loans or securities is holding the sector back - particularly in terms of securitisation activity

Bank partnership model boosted

Tuesday 27 September 2016 14:28 London/ 09.28 New York/ 22.28 Tokyo

New ruling is at odds with Madden vs Midland and CFPB vs Cashcall - also has implications for the "true lender" debate.

Secondary education

Monday 29 August 2016 17:38 London/ 12.38 New York/ 01.38 (+ 1 day) Tokyo

More regular securitisation issuance and a liquid secondary market could be vital for the stability of marketplace lending.

Investor retreat

Thursday 25 August 2016 14:19 London/ 09.19 New York/ 22.19 Tokyo

UK market as exposed to ups and downs of investor sentiment as the US

Guidance may hold-up lenders

Friday 12 August 2016 04:19 London/ 23.19 (- 1 day) New York/ 12.19 Tokyo

Proposed guidance from the FDIC raises the bar again for lenders using third parties - negative impact possible.

Latest News

US MPL Loan Data


Last Updated Date: October 2016

US PlatformTotal OriginatedAVG RoRAve Int. Rate
Lending Club$20bn+5.23%-9.11%7.71%-23.63%
SoFi$12bn+n/a *n/a *
Prosper$6bn+7.35%n/a *
Ondeck$5bn+n/a *n/a *
Avant$3bn+9.3% - 79.9%n/a *

UK MPL Loan Data


Last Updated Date: October 2016

UK PlatformTotal OriginatedAVG RoRAve Int. Rate
Zopa£1.78bn+3.5-6.5%9.90%
Funding Circle£1.59bn+7.10%6%-18.1%
RateSetter£1.48bn+3.7-6.1%7.10%
Lendinvest£776m7.13%n/a
ThinCats£200m7-8.5%11.20%

* Data is not publically available.